Jeremy J. Jones – Stranded in Thought

July 5, 2010

10 minutes to Oregon

Filed under: Miscellaneous — Jeremy @ 12:41 pm

Willamette River from Parrot Mountain, copyright © M.O. Stevens

After my morning workout in the gym this morning I decided to head out for a drive, searching to find Snake Den State Park in nearby Johnston, Rhode Island. I drove around it for a bit, never finding the parking lot and access to the trails. (This appears to be because the directions from the site are inaccurate; I believe the entrance to be on another road than the one named in the aforementioned directions.)

But what was interesting was what I did find. I drove up Route 6 (the ever-winding highway that travels east from Bishop, California to Provincetown, Massachusetts), and turned onto Brown Avenue.

Once I did that, I nearly immediately came across farmland and felt transported 3,000 miles to Oregon’s Willamette Valley, where I grew up. I felt a sense of nostalgia as I drove along that country road for a few minutes.

Eventually, I gave up trying to find the entrance to the park and instead resolved to find it another time. But that was a great start to my day, and sent me off to find this great shot from M.O. Stevens.

1 Comment »

  1. Did you ever find the park? If not, remind me to tell you. I love that farm you drove by, which is Dame Farm. When I need a quick get-away from the city I take a ride to Brown Ave and my spirits are lifted when I see the farm. I try to shop there for fresh veggies and take my kids there for pumpkins in the fall.

    Comment by Liz McKenna — August 12, 2010 @ 10:37 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

