Jeremy J. Jones – Stranded in Thought

May 17, 2009

Vancouver! This Is It!: May 18th In My Memory

Filed under: History,Thoughts — Jeremy @ 5:50 pm

For twenty-nine years, May 18 has held a certain distinction for me. On that date in 1980, I was in the second grade at Clear Lake Elementary School on Wheatland Road in what is now Keizer, Oregon. Sadly, the school has since changed locations and buildings, so I must admit a little part of me died in 2005 when I drove by the old location with my wife for the first time to find it closed. Thankfully, it was still there, so I could show it to her. Progress had claimed another victim, but that is not the point of this story.

Most people remember that on May 18, 1980, a natural disaster ranking with Hurricane Katrina and the San Francisco and Northridge earthquakes in terms of financial damage happened in southern Washington. On that day, at 8:32 A.M., a 5.1 earthquake shook loose the bulging north face of Mt. St. Helens, causing it to slide downward into Spirit Lake and the mountain to erupt, spewing some 540 million tons of ash into the atmosphere1. That’s 1,080,000,000,000 pounds. 1 trillion, 80 billion pounds of ash. Incredible. This event caused unimaginable damage to the surrounding area, and 57 unfortunate people were killed as a result of the catastrophe.

But what most people probably don’t know is that there is a great man buried under the debris of the north face of Mt. St. Helens. His name was Harry R. Truman (“No relation [to the President],” he said). He was 83 years old.

Harry became something of a national celebrity from March, 1980 until his death on the 18th of May. He lived in a cabin on Spirit Lake, directly under the north face of the mountain, which was exhibiting a bulge the likes of which vulcanologists had never before seen or studied. As a result, there was considerable fervor over his living in the cabin, and refusing to leave. As the media began to promote this case in earnest, children all over the country began to take an interest in Harry, many writing letters to him.

However, the letters that piqued his interest most were those written by Scott Torgeson’s third and fourth grade class at Clear Lake Elementary. The letters written by these children, begging him to leave the mountain, asking him why he wouldn’t, and providing him advice for how to protect the animals in an eruption, prompted Harry to visit the school. He arranged a helicopter via National Geographic magazine, which was reporting on the mountain’s activity, and came to the school to meet and speak with the children. I’ll never forget that day. It was Wednesday, May 14, 1980.

The school took the opportunity to bring all the students out. (Accounts place the number of students at either 104 or 110 students2,3; that seems about right, but I can’t recall, having been seven years old at the time.) The parents came to see Harry and to watch the children interact with him. It was an amazing day.

We all went outside to greet him, banners held high, and he came down in a helicopter, accompanied by a pilot, a National Geographic reporter, and if I’m not mistaken, a photographer from the magazine. We cheered his arrival, waving and jumping, as the copter landed and Harry walked out to greet us.

If I recall correctly, he was given a chair. Though, he might have been offered one and instead said “I don’t need no damned chair,” or something like that. Harry talked like that, even when we children were present. In any case, Harry said a few simple words, “Hello, children,” and the like, and then took questions from us; that was the real reason he’d come.

One question sticks out in my mind from all those years ago, and it was: “What would you do if you looked out your window and you saw lava coming down the mountain at you?” I don’t remember who asked it, but it was one of the kids.

Harry’s response was exceptionally candid: “I’d run like hell.” We laughed, but it was exactly the right statement; I’m sure that’s what any person would do under such circumstances.

After a few more simple questions and comically truthful answers, the conversation changed. One of the children asked Harry why he didn’t just leave the mountain, to make sure it didn’t kill him.

This seemed to be what Harry was waiting for, because he dramatically changed his tone and explained. I don’t have the exact words of Harry in my memory, but his message remains with me; I’ve brought it forward with me every day since. He told us he’d lived a long and mostly happy life, he’d built the cabin himself, he’d lived up there some twenty years, and he’d buried his wife right outside the cabin, and visited her every day. He told us he loved his wife and missed her every day, and that if he had to be buried, he wanted to be buried with her.

Then he told us someday we’d understand. Now I do. It was one of those rare occasions when an adult told me I’d understand someday, and I actually remember understanding. Then Harry told us goodbye, and we told him the same. He and his crew got into their helicopter and flew back to Spirit Lake. Four days later, the mountain erupted, and Harry joined his wife. We were the last people to see him alive, excepting those with him in the helicopter.

Below, I’ve added a link to a short YouTube video by spikedeadman showing the collapse of the northern face of Mt. St. Helens that would have killed Harry, and the beginning of the subsequent eruption. If you’ve never seen it, or if it’s been a while, take a look. It will leave you speechless.

I’m not sure if Harry was the first person I’d met who died, but he is definitely the first person whose death I remember. I knew Harry, so to speak, for only about an hour and thirty minutes or so. But he has had a tremendous impact on my life; I think often about that man, and his philosophy. He had his priorities figured out, and he explained them very clearly to a bunch of grade school children, as if he were speaking to adults. As a result, his message still resonates with me, and I suspect most everyone else who was there, twenty-nine years later.

Every May the 18th, I think about Mt. St. Helens and specifically Harry R. Truman. Every year. I feel a strange bond with that man, even though we never actually spoke. It’s amazing what an impact on one’s life twenty or thirty letters from third and fourth graders can have. (Along those lines, please make sure your children write. It can make a huge difference in their lives.)

Due to such a simple act of compassion on the part of children, kindness on the part of an old man resulted in one of the greatest gifts I’ve ever been given. I wasn’t in Scott Torgeson’s class at the time, but I feel privileged to have been at Clear Lake on that day.

My world is better for your having been here, Harry. Run like hell.

References

  1. Tilling, Robert I., Topinka, Lyn and Swanson, Donald A. (1990). Eruptions of Mount St. Helens: Past, Present, and Future. U.S. Geological Survey. Accessed May 17, 2009.
  2. Findley, Rowe. St. Helens: Mountain With A Death Wish – In the Path of Destruction. National Geographic, January, 1981. Accessed May 17, 2009.
  3. The Daily News. Mt. St. Helens – 25 Years Later. Lee Publications Inc. Accessed May 17, 2009.
7 Comments »

  1. Jeremy:

    Thank you for writing this, I remember Harry’s flight and visit to Clear Lake that year and I too think of him often and have told both my sons about him. It’s nice to know that there are others that took something away from his visit. I would like to think that Harry would be pleased to know that he made such an impact on us.thabk you again for sharing.

    Comment by Trisha Hargis — May 17, 2009 @ 7:52 pm

  2. Thanks for sharing this with me and the world. I am proud to have you for a son. I wish you the greatest success in you life as a writer. What you write is very insightful and thoughtful. keep up the good work.

    mje.lebanon@live.com

    Comment by Merriweather Jones — May 17, 2009 @ 11:40 pm

  3. Thanks to both of you. May 18th is an important day for me, so I had to write about it.

    I’ve got a couple more things in the works, and then my fiction and poetry will be kicking up in the next couple of weeks.

    Oh, and working on your story, Dad, and my family tree, among many other things.

    Thanks for your kind words. But I assure you, I am more proud to have you as a father, especially now having read about your life.

    Comment by Jeremy — May 19, 2009 @ 5:46 pm

  4. Hi Jeremy, I’m thinking you were my student that year? This day touched all of us. A rare experience where love came over us on that May day! I loved reading your reflections and am feeling a little sad remembering the Clear Lake bond! Thanks for sharing! Jane Crawford Allen

    Comment by Jane Allen — May 18, 2015 @ 11:02 am

  5. Yes I was. I realized the date as I left for work this morning and realized it had been six years since I wrote this. The memory of that day has always been very powerful in my memory. I learned more from Harry Truman in ninety minutes than many people have the good fortune to learn in a lifetime.

    Comment by Jeremy — May 18, 2015 @ 1:08 pm

  6. Wow Jeremy!! I just found this…. I was looking on line this morning to show my son why this day is so important to me. It brought tears to my eyes. I remember this day like it was yesterday, Thank you so much for writing this Jeremy, it will always be that special day with my clear lake family!!!

    Comment by Kimmii Hatfield — May 18, 2017 @ 10:36 am

  7. Hi Kimmii,

    I’m glad you found it. That was really a special day. It’s remarkable after so many years that I still remember it as clearly as I do. That speaks to the wisdom of Harry.

    Best,
    Jeremy

    Comment by Jeremy — May 19, 2017 @ 3:20 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

